Arts Festival 2012 Awards Celebration & Reception, free and open to the public!

It’s that time of year again! Every spring, the Arts Council celebrates the Arts Festival, an opportunity to showcase Boston College’s visual arts, dance, music, literary arts, theatre, and lots more. The Arts Festival is a three-day affair from Thursday, April 26 through Saturday, April 28. The schedule is packed with events for students, adults, and families.

Each year at the Arts Festival, we have the opportunity to honor alumni, faculty, and student artists at the Arts Awards Celebration & Reception. Free and open to the public, the program will recognize the artistic accomplishments of alumnus Tony Taccone ’72, faculty-member Dr. Michael Noone, and seven Boston College students. University President Father William P. Leahy, S.J., and Arts & Sciences Dean David Quigley will present the awards.

2011 Arts Award Recipients

Recipients were selected, not only for their artistic achievements, but also for their influence on the University’s culture and the greater arts community beyond the borders of Boston College.

Tony Taccone, this year’s alumni award recipient, is the artistic director of Berkeley Repertory Theatre, where he has staged more than 35 shows, including world premieres by Culture Clash, Rinde Eckert, David Edgar, Danny Hoch, Geoff Hoyle, Quincy Long, Itamar Moses, and Lemony Snicket. Taccone took two shows from Berkeley Rep to Broadway: Sarah Jones’ Tony Award-winning Bridge & Tunnel and Carrie Fisher’s Wishful Drinking. He commissioned Tony Kushner’s Angels in America, co-directed its world premiere, and has collaborated with Kushner on seven projects including Brundibar and Tiny Kushner. Two of Taccone’s recent shows transferred to London, and two scripts that he penned are having their premieres this year.

Tony Taccone '72, Alumni Arts Award Recipient

Mr. Taccone will appear at the festival at a Theatre Panel discussion (Thursday, 3 PM, Gasson 305), for a live interview at Inside the BC Studio (Friday, 2 PM, Gasson 305), and at the Awards Celebration & Reception (Friday, 4 PM, O’Neill Plaza).

This year’s faculty award will be presented to Professor and Music Department Chair Michael Noone. Noone’s achievements as a choral director reached a new height this year as his project of recording the complete works of Renaissance composer Tomas Luis de Victoria reached completion.

Dr. Michael Noone, Faculty Arts Award recipient

The student awards go to sophomores, juniors, and seniors who have made outstanding contributions to the arts in their disciplines. Students are nominated by faculty and arts professionals on campus.

This year’s student arts award recipients are Aileen Bianchi, Jennifer Brubaker, John Delfino, Kristin Drew, Brenna Kelley, and Christie Mealo. Eileen Won will receive the Jeffery Howe Art History Award. Kristin Drew and Brenna Kelley will perform at the ceremony.

The Arts Awards Celebration & Reception is free and open to the public and will take place Friday, April 27, at 4PM on the O’Neill Plaza. Register to attend here, or call 617-552-4700.

Download the Arts Festival 2012 program.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s