Share Your Story! Featured Student Artist Abigail Kopek

studentartistspicAs part of our 2016 Arts Festival theme of “Share Your Story!” we will be featuring student artists from Boston College and asking about what makes the arts so meaningful for them, and how getting involved with the BC art scene has shaped their lives and their futures!

First up, meet Abigail Kopek! Abigail plays the trumpet in the BC University Wind Ensemble, and she decided to share her “art history” with us and let us know what makes BC music so special!

In what ways have you been involved in the arts at Boston College?

I have been very involved with music at BC. Although I am graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Physics, I am minoring in Music and play trumpet and sing. My primary ensemble is the University Wind Ensemble (UWE) and I’m on its Student Executive Board in addition to being the Trumpet Section Leader. Beyond UWE, I’ve participated in the Marching Band, Symphonic Band, Pep Band, University Chorale, the Chamber Singers of the University Chorale, and the Music Department’s Music Outreach Program.

What has participating in the arts meant to you during your time at BC?

Music is my main method of social interaction. I have met so many wonderful people and feel privileged that they’ve let me into their lives. I probably would have far fewer friends and be incredibly unhappy if I didn’t make music with familiar people on a regular basis.

Who or what inspires you and why?

The best thing about the BC music groups I’ve joined is the fantastic support I’ve received from everyone in them. We inspire each other so that, regardless of skill level, we strive for our best and to always improve. When I got into UWE as a freshman, there was one trumpet player, a senior, who was so good that he was rather intimidating. Yet he was also a great guy and I was inspired to become better so that the UWE would not suffer from his loss. Also, the directors and teachers put so much care and effort into us which inspires me to give at least as much back in appreciation.

What is your most memorable arts experience and what did you learn from it?

Where to start? Freshman year, the Sesquicentennial concert at Boston’s actual SYMPHONY HALL!!! I sang with the Chorale and played with UWE. I felt so honored to share my passion for music in a place world-renowned for that art. By that point in my first year, I had already sung with the Boston Pops, performed in the halftime show for the Canadian Allouettes Football team in Montreal, sang mass in St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome, and screamed my head off at the Men’s Basketball Team in Greensboro, NC. Symphony Hall was a realization point of how fortunate I was to go to Boston College and be a part of groups that can offer such incredible, once in a lifetime opportunities.

Make sure to check out all of the amazing music events at the 2016 BC Arts Festival for even more arts stories and to support students like Abigail!

Click here for the full schedule of Arts Festival events!

Leave a Reply

