Student Artist Feature: Meet Parker!

Arts-Fest-Logo-Green

Meet Parker Aubin! This accomplished musician shares his art story with BC Arts Insider: a four-year love affair with music, BC Bands, and all things bOp!

Don’t miss Dancing with bOp! 2016, this Saturday, April 30th, at 8:00pm in the O’Neill Plaza. Students get in for free with your Eagle ID, and tickets are available at the door for the general public ($15).

Screen Shot 2016-04-19 at 9.26.27 PM

In what ways have you been involved in the arts at Boston College?
Of all of the opportunities in the arts that BC provides, I have felt most at home in the performing musical arts. I have been a member of several ensembles in the BC Bands program in my four years here. Without downplaying the merits of the other groups in which I have played, I have undoubtedly had some of the greatest musical (and otherwise) experiences as a member of BC bOp!. I have also grown the most as a musician and artist in the atmosphere of high-caliber playing and friendly camaraderie that is bOp!.

What has participating in the arts meant to you during your time at BC?
I found my second family as a member of BC bOp!. The tight social bond that we have in bOp! stems from the common goal of creating art through quality music on various stages across New England (and once in Idaho). We each bring something different to the ensemble, and playing together, we forge a sound greater than the sum of the individual components.

Who or what inspires you and why?
With any college group, there is the unique property of member rotation as veteran members graduate and underclassmen join. In my first two years of the ensemble, I was fortunate to have the guidance of two upperclassmen in my section, Dave Bonaiuto and Terry Peng, who were a great source of inspiration to my playing and understanding of our media, jazz. In my last two years, I took on the role of section leader with their influence in mind as I tried my best to impart some of the same wisdom on the other members of my section and the ensemble. I am humbled by the tradition that we uphold in BC bOp! and remember that a portion of our present musical success is owed to the players who came before me. I am inspired not only by my contemporaries in the ensemble, but by the bOp! alumni who set the scene for us.

What is your most memorable arts experience and what did you learn from it?
I have always gotten a lot of enjoyment and satisfaction from our annual Dancing With bOp! show during Arts Fest. This performance is unique for us because we work with the dance groups on campus to provide live musical accompaniment to their routines – which is hardly ever our usual style. It is fun music to play, and the environment of the performance is unparalleled. Each dance group has a different flavor and style and it is a real joy to play with each of them throughout the night. The atmosphere of the audience is also different from most of our other shows. Because of the individual fan clubs from each group coming together with our fans and spectators interested in the show as a whole, the audience is always vibrant and supportive. I love the opportunity that the Dancing With bOp! provides us with to collaborate with various dance groups combining visual and musical arts in a captivating event.

Dancing w- Bop-final

 

Leave a Reply

