Student Artists Feature: Danny Quinones!!

IMG_1677

Meet Danny Quinones! As a featured BC student artist, we have invited him to share his art story! This talented theatre and writing enthusiast has a short play being performed in this year’s BC Arts Festival as part of..

Contemporary Theatre’s Playwriting Extravaganza on

Saturday, April 30th, at 3:30pm in the Stokes Art Tent! Don’t miss it! (It’s free and open to the public!)

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 2.16.32 PM

In what ways have you been involved in the arts at Boston College?

I have participated as an actor in a number of shows with the Boston College Theater Department, namely Big Love, Almost, Maine, and with this Art’s Fest, The Servant of Two Masters. Additionally, I am a member of the student theater board Contemporary Theatre. Last semester I took the class Dramatic Structure and the Theatrical Process with Scott T. Cummings, a class which culminated with a presentation of original short scenes; I wrote a scene, and acted in another for this event. And lastly, I am participating in CT’s Playwriting Extravaganza, in which I am excited to say another of my original scenes will be featured.

What has participating in the arts meant to you during your time at BC?

For me participating in the arts here at BC has been about finding a place to belong. In the BC theater department I have found good friends, whom I care for, and on whom I can count on. They accept me for who I am, and appreciate me for what I have to offer.

Who or what inspires you and why?

I am an inspired by my audience, and I don’t mean that it an “oh, look at me!” kind of way. By that I mean, I am inspired by having someone to make feel something through my art. Even if that something is only a few laughs, it inspires me to know that I had some kind of an impact. This is what inspires me to write, and this is what inspires me to act, and in this way there is very little difference between the two for me.

What is your most memorable arts experience and what did you learn from it?

It’s tough to say for certain, because there have been quite a few moments worthy of being called memorable, but if I had to choose only one… I’d say it was when I wrote one of my first plays with my cousin, and standing on stage I heard the audience hard laugh at our jokes for the first time, and could see they were entertained by what we had made. This moment for me was big, because it made me realize that writing was something that I could actually do. Writing wasn’t some unattainable goal for people who were smarter, or more talented than me. As long as I worked hard and practiced, I could make art too.

What are you most looking forward to at this year’s Arts Festival?

I am looking forward to the Playwriting Extravaganza! Not only because my play will be put on (yay!) but also because a lot of other exciting original works will be performed, and we’ll get to see the hard work of a whole bunch of people pay off.

13043427_10154730291543448_7173212958439134734_n

Arts-Fest-Logo-Yellow

 

Leave a Reply

